Its time to change the agenda.

Gun crime is the single biggest threat to our right to responsible firearm ownership.

So if the Politicians and the Courts wont target the criminals – then we will.

The Kiwi Gun Blog have just launched the ‘5-5-5-Life’ campaign.

This is an initiative seeking mandatory, minimum sentences for those who threaten us AND the Police we try to support.

Members of Parliament Were Asked if They Would Support the Initiative

Dear Member of Parliament,

We are seeking an increase in the criminal penalties for those who offend with firearms in New Zealand.

Obviously this is among our most serious of offending.

We are writing to ask that you please answer the following question:

If there was a conscience vote in the house today on the following proposition– would you support it?

  1. Anyone convicted of the theft of a firearm receives a mandatory minimum, no parole, sentence of five years.

To be served consecutively with their other charges.

  1. Anyone convicted of possession of an illegal firearm AFTER RECEIVING PREVIOUS CONVICTIONS FOR SERIOUS CRIME receives a mandatory minimum, no parole, sentence of five years.

To be served consecutively with their other charges.

  1. Anyone convicted of using a firearm in a SERIOUS CRIME receives a mandatory minimum, no parole, sentence of five years.

To be served consecutively with their other charges.

  1. Anyone convicted of knowingly and willfully providing a criminal with a firearm receives a mandatory minimum, no parole, sentence of five years.

To be served consecutively with their other charges.

  1. Anyone convicted of discharging a firearm at a Police Officer receives a mandatory minimum, no parole, sentence of life in prison.

The above sentences are combined as required.

It would be a difficult job to explain to a foreigner that we are seeking to RAISE gun crime penalties to a pitiful five years – but here we are. We still believe that the combination of severity and certainty will be effective.

Those who don’t get the message – get the time.

Your early response of ‘Yes – No – Refuse to answer’ would be appreciated.

Thanks for your time,

The Kiwi Gun Blog.

P.S. Here are just a few examples of the current responses to gun crime in New Zealand:

Example 1 Example 2 Example 3 Example 4

Other Parties

The NZ Police, Police Association and the anti gun academics Kevin Clements and Alexander Gillespie have also been asked if they will support this initiative. The Kiwi Gun Blog will let you know their response.

The Press have been notified of the campaign.


Any party who chooses NOT to support this modest signal that gun crime will no longer be tolerated – Will have absolutely NO credibility should they ever call for other gun law changes in the future.

How Did the MP’s Respond?

Where does your Member of Parliament stand on the issue?

Find out below.

The list will be updated as their responses come in.

Please do give them your thoughts on the matter.

Kudos to National MP Paul Foster-Bell for the first ‘Yes’.


Surname, Firstname Party, Electorate
Adams, Amy National Party, Selwyn
Ardern, Jacinda Labour Party, Mt Albert
Bakshi, Kanwaljit Singh National Party, List
Ball, Darroch NZ First, List
Barclay, Todd National Party, Clutha-Southland
Barry, Maggie National Party, North Shore
Bayly, Andrew National Party, Hunua
Bennett, Paula National Party, Upper Harbour
Bennett, David National Party, Hamilton East
Bindra, Mahesh NZ First, List
Bishop, Chris National Party, List
Bond, Ria NZ First, List
Borrows, Chester National Party, Whanganui
Bridges, Simon National Party, Tauranga
Browning, Steffan Green Party, List
Brownlee, Gerry National Party, Ilam
Carter, David National Party, List
Clark, David Labour Party, Dunedin North
Clendon, David Green Party, List
Coates, Barry Green Party, List
Coleman, Jonathan National Party, Northcote
Collins, Judith National Party, Papakura
Cosgrove, Clayton Labour Party, List
Cunliffe, David Labour Party, New Lynn
Curran, Clare Labour Party, Dunedin South
Davidson, Marama Green Party, List
Davis, Kelvin Labour Party, Te Tai Tokerau
Dean, Jacqui National Party, Waitaki
Delahunty, Catherine Green Party, List
Doocey, Matt National Party, Waimakariri
Dowie, Sarah National Party, Invercargill
Dunne, Peter United Future, Ōhāriu
Dyson, Ruth Labour Party, Port Hills
English, Bill National Party, List
Faafoi, Kris Labour Party, Mana
Finlayson, Christopher National Party, List
Flavell, Te Ururoa Maori Party, Waiariki
Foss, Craig National Party, Tukituki
Foster-Bell, Paul      Support National Party, List
Fox, Marama Maori Party, List
Genter, Julie Anne Green Party, List
Goldsmith, Paul National Party, List
Goodhew, Jo National Party, Rangitata
Graham, Kennedy Green Party, List
Guy, Nathan National Party, Ōtaki
Hayes, Joanne National Party, List
Henare, Peeni Labour Party, Tāmaki Makaurau
Hipkins, Chris Labour Party, Rimutaka
Hudson, Brett National Party, List
Hughes, Gareth Green Party, List
Huo, Raymond Labour Party, List
Joyce, Steven National Party, List
Kaye, Nikki National Party, Auckland Central
Key, John National Party, Helensville
King, Annette Labour Party, Rongotai
Korako, Tutehounuku (Nuk) National Party, List
Kuriger, Barbara National Party, Taranaki-King Country
Lee, Melissa National Party, List
Lees-Galloway, Iain Labour Party, Palmerston North
Little, Andrew Labour Party, List
Logie, Jan Green Party, List
Lotu-Iiga, Peseta Sam National Party, Maungakiekie
Macindoe, Tim National Party, Hamilton West
Mahuta, Nanaia Labour Party, Hauraki-Waikato
Mallard, Trevor Labour Party, Hutt South
Mark, Ron NZ First, List
Martin, Tracey NZ First, List
Mathers, Mojo Green Party, List
McClay, Todd National Party, Rotorua
McCully, Murray National Party, East Coast Bays
McKelvie, Ian National Party, Rangitikei
Mitchell, Clayton NZ First, List
Mitchell, Mark National Party, Rodney
Moroney, Sue Labour Party, List
Muller, Todd National Party, Bay of Plenty
Nash, Stuart Labour Party, Napier
Naylor, Jono National Party, List
Ngaro, Alfred National Party, List
O’Connor, Damien Labour Party, West Coast-Tasman
O’Connor, Simon National Party, Tāmaki
O’Rourke, Denis NZ First, List
Paraone, Pita NZ First, List
Parata, Hekia National Party, List
Parker, David Labour Party, List
Parmar, Parmjeet National Party, List
Peters, Winston NZ First, Northland
Prosser, Richard NZ First, List
Pugh, Maureen National Party, List
Reti, Shane National Party, Whangarei
Robertson, Grant Labour Party, Wellington Central
Roche, Denise Green Party, List
Ross, Jami-Lee National Party, Botany
Rurawhe, Adrian Labour Party, Te Tai Hauāuru
Sage, Eugenie Green Party, List
Salesa, Jenny Labour Party, Manukau East
Scott, Alastair National Party, Wairarapa
Sepuloni, Carmel Labour Party, Kelston
Seymour, David ACT New Zealand, Epsom
Shaw, James Green Party, List
Simpson, Scott National Party, Coromandel
Sio, Aupito William Labour Party, Māngere
Smith, Nick National Party, Nelson
Smith, Stuart National Party, Kaikōura
Stewart, Barbara NZ First, List
Tabuteau, Fletcher NZ First, List
Tirikatene, Rino Labour Party, Te Tai Tonga
Tisch, Lindsay National Party, Waikato
Tolley, Anne National Party, East Coast
Turei, Metiria Green Party, List
Twyford, Phil Labour Party, Te Atatū
Upston, Louise National Party, Taupō
Wagner, Nicky National Party, Christchurch Central
Wall, Louisa Labour Party, Manurewa
Whaitiri, Meka Labour Party, Ikaroa-Rāwhiti
Williams, Poto Labour Party, Christchurch East
Williamson, Maurice National Party, Pakuranga
Wood, Michael Labour Party, Mt Roskill
Woodhouse, Michael National Party, List
Woods, Megan Labour Party, Wigram
Yang, Jian National Party, List
Young, Jonathan National Party, New Plymouth

The Slithering Begins…


No Eugenie. Accountability to your constituents doesn’t work that way.

Even if you are just list.

Same goes for you Annette.

wiggle 2