Just a quick update folks:

The Police Minister has told us that:

“We are working through our response over the new few weeks and I will be getting in independent advisors from the hunting and sport shooting community to assist me”.

According to her office today:

“These people have not yet been appointed. When they have the Minister will be making their names public – I expect that will be in the next week or so”.

The next step in the process is for the Police to provide the Minister with an analysis on the report.

We need to see this the moment it is made available The Kiwi Gun Blog has made a request for this.

As of today:

“Police has not written a report to the Minister on the Law and Order Committee’s recommendations so this information does not exist at this time”.

In the mean while the Police Minister has sent a friendly form letter to those shooters who have written to her on the subject.

“Thanks for taking the time to write and provide your feedback on Parliament’s report into firearms.

I’ve got a family full of recreational hunters and fishers so I understand where you are coming from. My focus is on seeing fewer guns in the hands of criminals, and not on unduly burdening responsible firearms owners.

After an initial look at the recommendations I can see several that probably won’t be progressed, but more work needs to be done. We are working through our response over the new few weeks and I will be getting in independent advisors from the hunting and sport shooting community to assist me.

I’ll send you an update when we have some progress to report.  I do appreciate your feedback and officials are going through the almost 300 emails we’ve received”.

We will need a LOT stronger commitment than “…probably won’t be progressed” before the election. But that is still positive and we should take it as such.

The Minister did pose with a Machine Gun for us tho….

We should be able to do that here. If only we were as free as Vietnam…..

Stay tuned for updates

f11

